Row, row, row.

So I’ve recently picked up indoor rowing as my mechanism for exercise. I was very unhappy with the way my health and fitness had been recently and I needed to make a change. Initially, I wanted to join a cycling class but when I was looking up locations near my work, I happened upon a fitness studio that offers cycling and indoor rowing. Due to my work schedule and the class schedule, rowing was the first class I could make, so I thought I’d give it a try.

I am so, so glad that I did. It is such a great form of exercise. I used to be a runner back in middle school, high school and leisurely throughout college, but then basically stopped exercising except for weekend hikes and the occasional burst of ab workouts at my apartment. I realized I am no good at working out on my own and sticking with a routine, I needed someone to hold me accountable for my exercise, which meant I needed to attend a class.

I started indoor rowing about 2 weeks ago and I have been going about 2-3 times per week since. I really enjoy it. It works almost every muscle group in your body within an hour workout. I wouldn’t say it’s an easy workout, as it is challenging, however, it is better than running. I can feel myself getting stronger and getting into shape. I am very excited to continue this class for a very long time.

One thing I’m most interested in or excited about is the difference in my endurance when I attempt to climb Mount Evans in Idaho Springs, CO (for the second time) in about 3 weeks. My husband and I tried last fall, but not only did we start a lot later in the day than we should have, but we were whooped by the time we summited Mount Spalding, which is about 13,900ft. My husband has been running for the last several months and I have been doing this rowing class, so we are excited to be in better shape this go around.

If you are at all interested in indoor rowing for exercise, do it. You won’t regret it.

-MB

Leave a Reply

